Gross Gladiators TWD S3e5

would you do for entertainment during a zombie apocalypse?

I feel so special, it’s only been three days and I have readers asking how soon till I get my review of the last Walking Dead episode posted, so thanks for the motivation here it is, and if it’s not awesome then it’s your fault for rushing me. ūüėČ

As I’ve done in previous reviews, rather than jumping back and forth between plot lines, I’m going to address one and then the other. I’ll start with Pleasantville, I mean Stepford…err Woodbury. So Woodbury is having a great afternoon.¬†Kids are playing with dogs, people are chatting, and the Governor is spending some quality time with #TheWalkingDaughter (again, kudos to Talking Dead for coming up with great twitter hashtags to throw around during the episode). Several people will point out that the¬†Governor would have to be dumber than a box of rocks, or at least as dumb as Hershel, to keep any walkers like that. I would¬†point out possibly dumber, because Hershel’s people were aware of the walkers in the barn, and were on board. If the sheeple of Woodbury found out, I can’t see it going well. However, I¬†implore you all (all 3 of my readers lol) to ask yourselves, if you believed there was even a chance at a “cure” and you were working with a doctor who was trying to conduct research and¬†possibly find one, wouldn’t you love for “survivor¬†zero”¬†to be a loved one? Anyway, no one but Michonne is paying attention to the fact that the Governor isn’t out chilling with everyone,¬†Woodbury is going to have a¬†party, which will take resources, including power from the generators, something Milton (the doc with the tea) isn’t keen on using for a party, because he’s using them for a research project, that a bored Michonne may have ruined, by killing some locked up walkers after getting her sword back (something that I will point out, should not have been kept from her). By the end of the episode though it’s likely the walkers were part of the “entertainment” we witnessed. I think desensitizing the people with toothless zombies¬†is wrong, however (and please leave comments) what, other than endless games of Ninja, would you do for entertainment during a zombie apocalypse? Now when the Governor confronted Michonne, I’m going to argue that he knew exactly what he was doing, and was deliberately pushing buttons, to get her to leave without actually saying it. It was tough to watch Michonne leave Andrea, but (and people call me crazy for defending Andrea) Michonne hasn’t given Andrea any hard evidence, so I can see why Andrea chose¬† to stay.

Somewhere between the prison and Woddbury, Maggie and Daryl made a successful formula run, for the “little asskicker” (wasn’t Daryl so sweet holding her?). And at the prison, Rick has in my opinion officially lost himself to grief and rage. I felt ill seeing the bloated walker, and I hurt for him, that there’s nothing left of Lori to bury. Lori deserved better than that in my opinion. When it comes to the ringing phone at the end, my mind immediately went to Fight Club. I find it difficult to believe someone would be calling the prison, and that phone lines would be working¬†even though I know they’ve got the power going.

With Rick as crazy as I think he is, Woodbury still looks peachy. Both Rick and the Governor lost a couple points each, while Daryl became increasingly awesome.

Thoughts, comments? Please share, and thanks for reading ūüôā

4 thoughts on “Gross Gladiators TWD S3e5

  1. Wow. That’s a handful of dissection for such a “filler” episode. Yes, I’ll say it since you didn’t. This harkening back to the LOST days of television brought back memories (and not good one, I might add) of the quite move in chess…or, more succinctly, the spider episode of LOST. To help refresh those memories that are forgetful (deliberately or otherwise) The spider episode (episode: “Expos√©” is the 14th episode of the 3rd season and 63rd episode overall) is a plugged in filler while we rested/transitioned/ultimately figured out the end of LOST pretty clearly – albiet 3 years ahead of schedule. It was dissapointing because it felt like there wasn’t any movement but had to be done because SOMETHING had to be done. This pretty much sums up my feelings about this lost episode. Filler. That said, I’ll now put my issues aside and address your insights more fully…

    1.I implore you all (all 3 of my readers lol) to ask yourselves, if you believed there was even a chance at a ‚Äúcure‚ÄĚ and you were working with a doctor who was trying to conduct research and possibly find one, wouldn‚Äôt you love for ‚Äúsurvivor zero‚ÄĚ to be a loved one?

    No no no. That is what is wrong with our holding on to the present mentality. While I understand regret and longing, it doesn’t make sense for characters to want to hold onto the past when they can’t even properly manage the future. Regardless, I think the real question is: How is it that regulation surplus clothing Rick has has managed to not be completely worn off after now a year by my count with no Maggie washings near the lake. Or is it like many horror/really, any movie…we don’t see the day to day stuff (like washing clothes) because it would be boring? Did I mention my feelings about this episode in general yet?

    2. …what, other than endless games of Ninja, would you do for entertainment during a zombie apocalypse?

    Build a better mouse-trap. Is eight months to a year really enough time for people to want “relaxing” time with Zombie entertainment? Why don’t we see images/episodes of them frantically trying to establish a stronger foothold. I realize it’s likely because the governor is a bit psychotic – but following the story arc, it would seem like people would be militaristic in building a stronger fortress instead of going about business like Pleasantville…which, is in it’s entirety slightly better than this last episode. Slightly…

    3. Do you catch my theme yet?

    4.And at the prison, Rick has in my opinion officially lost himself to grief and rage. I felt ill seeing the bloated walker, and I hurt for him, that there’s nothing left of Lori to bury.

    This is the most loaded sentence in the history of mankind when you take out “…And it was good.” Rick is pretty much the ONLY person in the series that is based on real human response. He is filled with an inconsistent, flaring battle of the human spirit and reality of the apocalyptic environment he is in. Are we a by product of our environment or live in spit of it? That is the question Rick answers on a regular basis. Everyone else (Save for Glenn, whom I favor as my second favorite character) is icky vanilla in comparison. Rick’s swings into crazed deliberation is masterful writing. Lori’s unceremonious toss out of the show is sure to haunt (and come up again as a recurring theme as a result) a few more episodes. But that is the thing that brings Rick’s vacillation to the forefront. It was always there…now it’s simply more real. Love it.

    Sympathy for the bloated walker. I just want that to hang in the air for a moment. Okay. I’m done.

    I feel that Lori is still around – i don’t know why. it’s a nagging suspicion though…well, yes. if you have to ask. Kind of like Lori’s entire character from the first 2 seasons…a nagging character.

    Thanks for making my week with your next entry. Keep up the great work! Also – how to I score more scrumptious cookies…delish

    • 1st of all I LOVE whenever LOST is brought up, and I love that Expose rarely gets the appreciation it deserves, considering the unknown end date Liundelof and Cuse were currently wrestling with, so to that I say: “Razzle Dazzle!”

      2nd of all, thanks for all your input Martin, you made a filler blog, for a filler ep, become as full as…a bloated walker ūüôā

Leave a Reply

