Super Saturday, Part 3 EW’s Women Who Kick Ass

So, photos are coming on this post, from another woman I know who kicks ass, photographically anyway, her name is Beth Riley, and it’s from her that I get the majority of my best pictures on this blog, especially from Comic-Con, her flickr is http://www.flickr.com/trekkiebeth and this post will seem a bit bare until I get the pictures from her, but till then, I’ll keep calm and carry on.

I could never decide what I loved most about Sackhoff as Starbuck, the great flying and action sequences, or the relationships that Starbuck had with others... still  sad about Apollo...

I could never decide what I loved most about Sackhoff as Starbuck, the great flying and action sequences, or the relationships that Starbuck had with others… still sad about Apollo…

So this was a panel that I was definitely psyched for, I had missed last years Entertainment Weekly’s Women Who Kick Ass panel, and greatly regretted it, this year I was incredibly thrilled because one of the kick ass panelists was Katee Sackhoff, who portrayed what will always be one of my favorite TV roles, Kara “Starbuck” Thrace from Battlestar Galactica.

 

Anyway, a couple of the other panelists that I was excited to see were Danai Gurira, who I already thought was awesome for her work as Michonne on The Walking Dead, and after seeing her at the panel I have a new found respect for her.  As the panel talked about the occasional idiocy and sexism that occurs when 80% of the writers in Hollywood and the entertainment industry are men, and the role models all of the panelists consider themselves as (not just as actors to the public but as women whose opportunity it is to show men in the industry that sexism is unacceptable, so that other generations of women don’t have to deal with it) Danai talked about the fact that in 2011 the recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize were women (click link for details) who fought for women’s equality in Liberia, and almost no one really paid attention to it, and these women are who she’d like to see movies made about. I completely agree.

One other woman at the panel that I agreed with a lot was Michelle Rodriguez, who also hit on the fact that the problems with roles for women, (especially in the action or sci-fi genres), which usually include having to fight in heels, or in skimpy clothes that have no purpose other than being skimpy, don’t always come out of a direct or conscious sexism, but simply from the fact that most of the writers are men, and to quote Rodriguez “They just don’t get it!”. So something that she reiterated frequently is that she wants to see more women in the writers rooms, which as someone who blogs on the side, and as who dreams of one day being a screenwriter, it was very encouraging and motivating, if I ever get a screenplay written and produced, I promise to dedicate it to Michelle Rodriguez!

Leave a Reply

