Broadchurch, taking a leap of faith

So, Broadchurch is a new British series to grace our screens for the next eight weeks, and when I say “new” I mean that they’ve already started and finished it across the pond, so this blog will be specific to the newness of it here in America.  The leap of faith I’m therefore taking is two-fold, one of which is simply the fact that I hate spoilers, and was tempted to not do a blog, lest I run into them, however as comments are rare, and as far as I know always been from here in the U.S., I felt like I’d have nothing to worry about. The second piece to the leap of faith is simply because I already watch far too much TV (yes there is such a thing as too much) and I wasn’t sure if squeezing in another drama, when I’m already watching Breaking Bad (can’t wait for Sunday… that also goes for the new AMC show Low Winter Sun ), The Bridge (I need to blog on that one too) and am behind on The Killing and The Following.  However BBCA (BBC America) did something clever, they posted the full first episode on YouTube a few days ago, and so I thought I’d give it a try and see if it’s worth diving into.

Now this may be surprising to some readers, that any debate was involved since any readers who know me know that when you’ve got a show with BOTH David Tennant (still my favorite Doctor, but we’ll see what Capaldi can do after Christmas this year) and Arthur Darvill (I don’t know of any husband on TV that will ever be able to out do Rory Pond… er Williams) there’s probably little that could keep me from watching it.

I have no clue what's going on in this scene yet, and I don't care because it's David Tennant and Arthur Darvill

I have no clue what’s going on in this scene yet, and I don’t care because it’s David Tennant and Arthur Darvill

Anyway, the premise of Broadchurch is that the death of a young boy and its subsequent investigation nearly pulls a small English coastal town apart.  Now my first thought was… that kind of sounds like The Killing… but then I reminded myself that before the U.S. had The Killing in 2011, there was Forbrydelsen in Denmark, which The Killing was a remake of.  The main differences though that I saw initially are that it’s a man investigating a boy’s murder, rather than a woman investigating a girl’s.  Having now watched the first episode, I can say that it has a bit more of a vibe like Luther, and like most British television pulls of subtlety in a way that doesn’t feel slow.

The first episode opens with us seeing the boy (Danny Latimer) standing on a cliff over looking a beach, at night or during early morning, and the episode is fairly well balanced between the boy’s family (Jodie Whittaker does a fabulous job as Danny’s mother by the way) and the work that the detectives are doing.  The small town feel, where everybody knows everybody, just sort of sits under the surface of things, and didn’t feel cliche or overplayed, and even though this isn’t set in America, it does feel like this all could have taken place anywhere.

As of who killed Danny Latimer… if it’s a character we’ve already seen I feel like I have no solid theories yet, and after tonight’s episode premieres on BBCA I’ll do a follow up blog with some theories and some info on how he died… yes I know people can just Google who killed him at this point, but I’m taking this step by step, as I assume most American viewers are, so for now, thanks for reading, and happy watching.

One thought on “Broadchurch, taking a leap of faith

Leave a Reply

