Cranston is Luthor! DC Starts Getting Their Stuff Together

Hi readers, here’s another quick one that I couldn’t wait on!

There must be two separate groups doing casting at Warner Brothers, one group choosing actors that fit the character... and another picking Affleck as Batman

There must be two separate groups doing casting at Warner Brothers, one group choosing actors that fit the character… and another picking Affleck as Batman

So if you read the comments/replies section of my last blog on Affleck as Batman you’ll see that I wasn’t all that kind to DC compared to Marvel, and part of that is that they haven’t built and filled their universe the way that Marvel has (I feel like at some point doing an in depth blog comparing the two studios).  My biggest DC/Warner Brothers complaint is their failure to have a long term plan, on which to build characters and stories.  Marvel has had a vision for a while, and they’ve tailored their films to having a purpose and place, all while being stand alones should anyone want to view just one (but really… who would want to do that). But as usual, I digress. The reason why I bring this up is the AWESOME news that BRYAN CRANSTON is gonna be LEX LUTHOR!!!!!!!!!!!!! I cannot begin to tell you how great his acting is, if you’ve never seen Breaking Bad you’re missing out.  But again I digress.

Unlike Ben Affleck as Batman, which caused TONS of fans to exclaim their disappointment online (myself being one of them), Cranston is a perfect pick, and it was a rumor I thought would never come true!

The only thing that now makes me happier about this is the quote in Scifi Now article where I first read of the epic news: that he was ‘signed up for what the describe as a “Nick Fury-style 6-film deal” as Superman’s classic overreaching antagonist Lex Luthor, starting with Man of Steel2′. Now one this is that we get 6 films with Bryan Cranston, or as this Metro Article states, up to 10) and the second is, it shows some planning on DC’s part.  They’re finally starting to see why Marvel has been knocking it out of the park.

On the flipside though, if the next section in that  Scifi Now article is accurate about Affleck getting “signed up for a ludicrous 13 film deal… (obviously this will be made-up of Marvel-style cameos)”. I concur with Scifi Now.. that is ludicrous. But again it shows planning and vision for DC, and that’s the only way that they’re going to keep up with Marvel.  However I still don’t think that Affleck is a good choice… and so every time he shows up on screen I’ll roll my eyes a bit.

But still the awesome news is still that DC got Bryan Cranston for Lex Luthor, and on that note I say:

somuchwin

One thought on “Cranston is Luthor! DC Starts Getting Their Stuff Together

  1. Pingback: Eisenberg and Irons, DC’s Latest Casting Choices | Geekly Press

Leave a Reply

